Tags

, , , , , ,

I saw an idea  in a magazine months ago for flavored ice cubes, and now that it’s summer I’ve finally gotten around to playing with idea.  For the next six weeks, I will feature a simple weekly cocktail using this idea.  I think the time is right as I’ve always considered summer a time to mix it up and perhaps be a little creative.

First up, a  Jalapeno- flavored ice cube with Bourbon.  I can’t tell you how much I love spicy stuff and to mix it with one of my favorite spirits is always a treat.

My new toy is these sphere ice molds from Tovolo. At $10 these cool, slow-melting spheres can add a an air of sophistication to the simplest drink.

BOURBON WITH JALAPENO FLAVORED ICE CUBE

4-5 sliced jalapenos (fresh or canned)

1/2 oz-1oz of jalapeno juice

2 tablespoons of simple syrup

2 tablespoons of water

2 oz Bulleit Bourbon Whiskey (any bourbon will do)

1 Tovolo Ice Sphere Molds OR regular ice tray

Directions:

Mix the first 4 ingredients together and pour into an ice tray. Freeze for 2-5 hours.

Remove from fridge and ice cube(s) to bourbon in a short glass.

Enjoy!

