Tags

, , , , ,

A dose of improvement

My first post in a week!  I’ve been a lil’ busy with auditions, workshops and whatnot. Now that summer is almost ending, I’ve been focusing a lot more on centering myself. In the past 4 months, I’ve moved in with Brett, left one one job to increase my hours at another.  I’ve also taken quite a few workshops on blogging (thanks Altitude Summit), and a few casting director workshops (a necessary evil for actors nowadays). Amongst the chaos of life there are those things, however small they are, that keep me one track. These things keep me sane, make me stronger, more focused, and happier. Here are just a few of my small improvements:

1) Breakfast every morning.                                                                                 This one has proven to be a non-negotiable. I tend to get ‘hangry’ and believe me, I’m a nicer person when I don’t skip meals.

2) Meditation at least 3 times a week.                                                                      I used to meditate every day, but with my schedule now, I find it hard to carve out the time, so I’ve given myself the happy medium of 3-4 times a week. I cannot emphasis how much of a difference meditation has made in my life. I may lessen the days, but I’ll never go without.  have a few guided meditation selections in my arsenal, but this one by Dr. Wayne Dyer is my favorite.

3) Affirmations                                                                                                           I know people think this is crazy, but hey when you’re an actor or anyone who tends to hear “no” more than “yes” in your professional life you start to realize how much it can eat away at your soul. There is no right way to do it. Sometimes I like to leave post-its in random places, or put an affirmation reminder in my calendar on my iPhone….BUT make sure it doesn’t turn out like this (LOL).

4) Shedding “stuff”
I am somewhat of a pack rat. When Brett and I moved in together I think he was in awe of how much crapola I had, and I admit I was too. Did I really need that top from college in case it came back in style? Or what about the shoes I bought 6 months ago that I have yet to wear? Or even the hardcopies of my cell phone and internet bills from the past three years? I think you guys get the picture: this stuff was weighing me down BIG TIME and I had to let it go! In the past 3 months I given away, sold, and donated tons of stuff. I still have a ways to go, but I feel much, much lighter.

5) Goal writing                                                                                                            I’m a huge believer in putting your goals or your vision for your life out into the universe, whether it’s saying it out loud or putting it on paper. I do both, but I perform goal writing more often. It allows me to keep a constant visual check of my progress. I also have some great goal/accountability partners that keep me in check.

What are your small improvements? Please share!

