Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

{Joan Crawford via doctormacro.com}

{Joan Crawford via doctormacro.com}

Since I got engaged on New Year’s, it’s been full speed ahead. I have been deeply entrenched in wedding mode. By avidly stalking Pinterest and several wedding blogs, I’ve managed to gather a lot of inspiration for our fall wedding (October to be exact). We have the venue, and most of the major details settled.  Now I can breathe and share some news by posting wedding updates on the occasional Wednesday!  My first ‘Wedding Wednesday’ post: I found my dress!

I started out looking for something a bit more romantic & traditional, but it became quickly became clear that the traditional dress route  is so not me. My wedding  dress) is definitely influenced by vintage glamour of the 20’s, 30’s and 40’s.  Looking back at old Hollywood glamour, I’m definitely inspired by these ladies:

{from left: Josephine Baker,Ginger Rogers, Dorothy Dandridge, Billie Holliday, Norma Shearer}

{from left: Josephine Baker,Ginger Rogers, Dorothy Dandridge, Billie Holliday, Norma Shearer}

There are some wonderful wedding dress designers that really channel this style quite well. Johanna Johnson, Jenny Packham and Temperley London are the most well known designers.  Unfortunately they were all way out of my  budget. I’m a bit too practical I guess. I couldn’t bring myself to pay $4,000 for a dress I’m wearing for a day.

The following pics are a few of the dresses that I drooled over during my search:

Hollywood Vintage Glamour  wedding dresses

{ images via: greenweddingshoes.com, bhldn.com, google.com,davidsbridal.com}

I got really lucky finding my dream dress at Lili Bridals in Encino, CA. It was sample that cost less than my budget and to think I almost didn’t go there. I gasped as I put it on. It was wedding fate, and now I can’t wait to wear it!.

What’s your dream wedding dress?

