Tags

, , , ,

Almost 7 years ago I was lucky enough to score a free trip to Turkey. Back then I was a bellydancer for a popular troupe in Los Angeles. Looking back at this time it feels like a lifetime ago.

For the past 2 months I’ve been trolling flea markets & vintage stores trying to find unique items for my wedding & I starting thinking about my trip to the Grand Bazaar in Turkey.Β  At that time my priority was buying a cheap bellydance outfit, leather jacket & knockoff designer purses among various gifts for friends & family. Yes, my priorities were in order.

In hindsight, I regret squandering my time at the grand bazaar. I dream for another chance. This time I’d do my research beforehand and make a beeline for a recommended rug dealer. I’d probably spend about an hour sipping tea while the rug seller tries to charm me into a steeper price; but then I’d settle in and prepare myself to look through a parade of rugs in order to find the perfect one….. at a price I couldn’t say no to.

Istanbul anyone?

{An array of silver pots and kettles}

{An array of silver pots and kettles}

{I bought a similar bellydance outfit during my trip}

{So many rugs!}

{So many rugs!}

{A book of gorgeous images from the grand bazaar}

{A book of gorgeous images from the grand bazaar}
