Tags

, , , ,

Early on, my potato and I decided that  we were opposed to the über traditional wedding reception.  I hate when the dinner takes up so much time that you rarely have time to really party, dance, mingle & generally have fun. Therefore, we opted to have a cocktail party. After the ceremony, we’ll have an extended cocktail hour  with several passed tray hours d’ouevres and a full bar leading us straight into party mode! We loved this idea, but it also meant the cocktails had to not only be really tasty, but truly unique.

Enter Talmadge and his company Pharmacie. I first discovered his company while perusing the images of a wedding featured in Martha Stewart Weddings that he worked his magic on. Later I noticed a few notable mentions on wedding blogs, so when I noticed our venue put him on their preferred vendor list, I knew we had to give him a try.

We were eager to arrive at his tasting kitchen in Burbank and soon after realized we were going to have a hard task on our hands of settling on a cocktail menu. His mixology skills are top-notch and everything we tasted,  I mean EVERYTHING was beyond delicious! In total we tasted about twelve cocktails, but we eventually settled on 4. A whiskey (of course!)cocktail, one Bourbon whiskey cocktail, a Tequila based cocktail, and one made with Calvados.  Oh, I did I mention we’re also doing a champagne bar?

Yep. Can’t wait.

{Talmadge and his assistant mixing it up}

{Talmadge and his assistant mixing it up}

Thinking about going the cocktail route for your wedding instead of a full on reception? Check out the tips below:

How To Throw The Perfect Wedding Cocktail Party

…Till next time!

