Tags

, ,

Maya Angelou, dressing room

{Maya Angelou in her dressing room. photo by G. Marshall Wilson}

I’m a little behind on this, but did you know Dr. Maya Angelou used to be a Calypso dancer & singer?

I came across a picture on my Pinterest of her backstage at one of her concerts and I had to know more. After a Google search, I came across this clip of her on Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday.

 

Isn’t her voice magnificent?  I’m always amazed how people reinvent themselves. Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the creative process. Sometimes as an artist you wake up and realize you’ve become a bit complacent.  You forget that your personal growth and yearning for knowledge is the only way to become a better artist.  When I see someone like Maya Angelou; someone who has her reinvented her life & career again and again, it just goes to show how many of us hold ourselves back for the sake of a ‘traditional’ career trajectory.

“A truly creative person rids him or herself of all self-imposed limitations”- Gerald Jampolsky

For a moment I forgot that my career is limitless. And so it seems…..I  still got a lot of learnin’ & livin’ to do. Don’t count me out just yet.

 

Until then….

-S

