Tags

, ,

 

About a month ago in my acting class, a scene made a reference to poet Pablo Neruda, and I’m a bit ashamed to say I had no idea who he was. The day after class for some reason it still weighed heavy on was on my mind, and so I took to the internet to find out more about this Chilean love poet.

Pablo Neruda won the Nobel Prize for Literature, but is most notably known for his book of sensual poems The Captain’s Versus. He finished writing the book in 1952 while in exile on the visually stunning island of Capri. However, the poems were not published until 1963.

His poems just ooze with passion. I love how they essentially capture ‘lighting in a bottle’; that energy created from a new love.Β  I wanted to share a few of my favorite poems of his so far:

 

DRUNK AS DRUNK by Pablo Neruda

Drunk as drunk on turpentine
From your open kisses,
Your wet body wedged
Between my wet body and the strake
Of our boat that is made of flowers,
Feasted, we guide it – our fingers
Like tallows adorned with yellow metal –
Over the sky’s hot rim,
The day’s last breath in our sails.

Pinned by the sun between solstice
And equinox, drowsy and tangled together
We drifted for months and woke
With the bitter taste of land on our lips,
Eyelids all sticky, and we longed for lime
And the sound of a rope
Lowering a bucket down its well. Then,
We came by night to the Fortunate Isles,
And lay like fish
Under the net of our kisses.

 

THE POTTERΒ  by Pablo Neruda (From the Captain’s Verses)

Your whole body holds
a goblet or gentle sweetness destined for me.

When I let my hand climb,
in each place I find a dove
that was looking for me, as if
my love, they had made you out of clay
for my very own potter’s hands.

Your knees, your breasts, your waist
are missing in me, like in the hollow
of a thirsting earth
where they are relinquished
a form,
and together
we are complete like one single river,
like one single grain of sand.

 

xo

Saudia

P.S. From Me to You

